Tagus River

The Tagus River is the longest river on the Iberian Peninsula. Born in Spain-where it is known as Tajo-1593 m above sea level in the Sierra de Albarracín, and flows into the Atlantic Ocean, Lisbon, after bathing a route of about 1007 km.

The mouth of the Tagus departed the naus and caravels of the Portuguese discoveries. The wave that struck Portugal in 1755 Quake day went up the river and flooded Lisbon and other places on the shore.

In Lisbon, the Tagus River is crossed by two bridges. The oldest is the April 25 Bridge (opened in 1966, then Ponte Salazar), one of the largest suspension bridges in Europe, and which connects the capital of Portugal at Almada. The other is the Vasco da Gama bridge, about 17 miles in length. It was inaugurated in 1998 and connects Lisbon (London) Alcochete and Montijo. The wider part of the river is called mar da Palha and lies between Lisbon, Vila Franca de Xira and Benavente.

Where the sea finish and river begins there is a fortress named (the Fort of São Julião da Barra).

Every year in the port of Lisbon, moor hundreds of luxury packages, mainly at the dock of Alcântara. In its estuary there is an ecological reserve (the Tagus Estuary Natural Reserve, with headquarters in Alcochete) where many species of birds nest here.

The river borders the Eastern and southern part of Lisbon, where you can find several monuments, erected virtually on the Bank, such as the Belém Tower and the Jerónimos Monastery, Manueline style, both declared World Heritage site. At its end, already bordering the sea, is a small island with the Forte de São Lourenço and Farol do Bugio




Rua dos Remolares nº14
1200-371 LisboaPortugal
Phone: +351 213 210 100
VeriSign Secured, McAfee Secure, W3C CSS compliant
GuestCentric - Hotel website & booking technology